Disabling email address verification
Discover more about disabling email address verification when using Sage.
When configuring a verified email domain in Salesforce, you can choose whether users must verify their email address when they add or change it. Email verification provides an additional layer of security by requiring users to confirm ownership of their email address before the change takes effect. This helps reduce the risk of systems assigning the incorrect email addresses to user accounts.
Domains created before 2026 enable email verification by default.
Why organizations can disable email verification
Some organisations prefer to disable email verification to simplify the management of user accounts. When they disable this setting, administrators can update users' email addresses without requiring each user to verify the change.
This can be particularly useful when:
-
Performing bulk email address updates
-
Managing employee onboarding or organizational changes
-
Correcting user email addresses quickly
However, disabling email verification removes an important validation step. Administrators need to take extra care when updating email addresses. This is because the system won't ask user to confirm that the new email address is correct.
Disable Email Verification
-
Go to Setup.
-
In the Quick Find box, search for Verified Domains.
-
Select Edit next to the domain you want to update.
-
Clear the Require Email Verification checkbox.
-
Click Save.